Age-Defying Colorful Apricot Chutney

           

 I know.  Chutney isn’t something you include in your steady diet.  You may think you don’t like it.  Now that you’ve applied your Age-Defying ABCs and are ready to try new things to jazz up your life, I encourage to try this recipe.  I didn’t know I was a fan of chutney until I tasted this.  My friend, Judy, from Delaware gave me the recipe and I love it.  I can hardly wait to fix it for our family over the holidays.  My husband even likes it and that’s a true test.  Go for it!  What have you to lose?  After all, it’s not as challenging as sky-diving, is it?

Colorful Apricot Chutney

  • 3 sweet large red peppers, diced
  • 12 ozs. dried apricots, diced
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup cider or red wine vinegar
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground mustard

 In a large, heavy saucepan, combine all ingredients; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Simmer uncovered, for 25-30 minutes or until thickened, stirring occasionally.    Cover and refrigerate.  Serve with pork or chicken.  Chutney may be stored in refrigerator for up to one month.  Yield: 4 cups

Comments
2 Responses to “Age-Defying Colorful Apricot Chutney”
  1. harriett salley says:

    sounds wonderful but too many ingredients! Can I taste yours? harriett

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    Sounds very interesting and I can’t wait to come to South Carolina and try it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

