Bred To Spread

You sneeze and a familiar voice from your childhood rings in your head.  “Cover your mouth!”  Good advice, especially if you’re spraying something contagious.  Consider with me the idea that God’s blessings in our lives should be contagious, but not something we hide or hoard.  Blessings are like chicken pox.  They’re bred to spread. 

In Genesis 12, God promised Abram He would bless him and bless all peoples through him.  God’s promise, as well as His plan was to make Abraham into a great nation.  I won’t pray such a lofty prayer for you, but I do have this to say.  Gesundheit!  God bless you, and while He’s at it, perhaps He will bless someone else through you this week.  Do you have a specific person in mind? 

 Although I want to be a blessing to others, I confess I’m sometimes more eager to impress than to bless.  I’m a people pleaser, and at times I’m more concerned about gaining approval from people than pleasing God.  When I realize I’m doing this, I remind myself to ask God to replace my desire to impress with a desire to bless.  I can’t do this on my own, but I know God is faithful to answer prayers that are in line with His will.  (I John 5:14-15)  Somehow I think it’s God’s will for us to bless others, don’t you? 

When I pray this prayer, I’ve learned not to expect an assurance of whether someone approves of—or likes me.  Instead, I can expect a change of heart and the joy of blessing someone else.  God’s not interested in feeding my ego.  He’s interested in feeding my spirit, and lifting someone else’s spirit through me. Isn’t that what blessings are all about?   From God to us and then God through us? 

                                                                               

*Like me, are you sometimes eager to impress others with your abilities and accomplishments?

*Ask God to change your desire to impress to a desire to bless.  Then, ask the Holy Spirit to fill you and show you specifically how He wants to bless others through you.

*You might be surprised at all you have to offer.  God may be waiting to release a myriad of ideas and opportunities to a gracious, humble heart—yours.

*Be blessed this week, and be open for God to bless others through you.

                                    “. . . It is more blessed to give than to receive.”

                                                                Acts 20:35 NIV

Leave a Reply

