Scrumptious Baked Spaghetti

This dish is sure to be a huge hit with your family, from age 3 to 101. It’s true. My mother-in-law will be 101 years old on September 24th.   She was a good cook in her day, but loves it now when I fix baked spaghetti for her.  It’s also my husband’s  latest favorite dish.   By the way, my mother-in-law loves cards, so if you’d like to send her one for her 101st, leave me a comment and I’ll send you her address.

Enjoy!

Scrumptious Baked Spaghetti

1 c. onion 1 lb. ground beef, browned & drained
1 c. green pepper (opt) 1 (12 oz.) pkg. spaghetti,cooked & drained
1 T. margarine 2 c. shredded cheddar chees
1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes w/liquid 1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 (4 oz.) can mushroom pieces, drained 1/4 c. water
1 (2 1/4 oz.) can sliced ripe olives, drained 1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese

In a large skillet, saute onion and green pepper in margarine until tender. Add tomatoes, mushrooms, olives and ground beef. Simmer, uncovered for 10 minutes. Place half of cooked spaghetti in a greased 9 x 13-inch baking dish. Top with half of vegetable mixture. Sprinkle with one cup of the cheddar cheese. Repeat layers. Mix the soup and water until smooth; pour over casserole. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until heated through.

Comments
7 Responses to “Scrumptious Baked Spaghetti”
  1. Ann Coogler says:

    Bill loves baked spaghetti and since I’m finally cooking again, I’ll try it. i’d love to send your mother-in-law a card, and ask her, what’s her best advice for making it to 101!

  2. Jackie Brown says:

    Looking forward to trying the spaghetti – sounds great. I also would like to send a card to your mother-in-law. Will ya’ll be there with her on the big day?

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Hey Liz!
    I’ve never known anyone who was 101 so I’d love to send her a card! Sept 24 was my brother’s birthday. He would’ve been 55 this year.

  4. Nora B. says:

    I tried this recipe in one huge batch last week because I needed to feed a large group and it was my husband’s birthday. Well, I got to enjoy getting all of the praises that you, Liz, deserved. This was a very big hit! And the large group I was cooking for is first generation Italian!

Leave a Reply

