Cell Phones, Facebook, and 1940

This is a test, not of your age, but your sense of humor.  Who remembers this song?

If you’re ever in a jam, here I am
If you’re ever in a mess, S-O-S
If you ever feel so happy, you land in jail; I’m your bail.
It’s friendship, friendship, just a perfect blendshipWhen other friendships have been forgot, Ours will still be hot.
Lah-dle-ah-dle-ah-dle dig, dig, dig.
If you’re ever up a tree, phone to me.
If you’re ever down a well, ring my bell.
If you ever lose your teeth, and you’re out to dine; borrow mine.
It’s friendship, friendship, just a perfect blendshipWhen other friendships have been forgate, Ours will still be great.
Lah-dle-ah-dle-ah-dle, chuck, chuck, chuck.
If they ever black your eyes, put me wise.
If they ever cook your goose, turn me loose.
If they ever put a bullet through your brain; I’ll complain.
It’s friendship, friendship, just a perfect blendshipWhen other friendships have been forgit, Ours will still be it.
Lah-dle-ah-dle-ah-dle, hep, hep, hepThanks for the lyrics, Sally!
 

It’s the Friendship song written by Cole Porter and recorded by Judy Garland and Johnny Mercer in 1940.  True, the lyrics are crazy, but what a fun way to express the value of a friendship. 

   If you want to be flabbergasted, ask a fourteen year old girl how many friends’ names she has in her cell phone.  I did this, and discovered our granddaughter has over 400 in her phone.  I know.  I couldn’t believe it, either.  And then there are friends to declare on face book.  We won’t go there because I don’t know enough to discuss it.

So, what do cell phones, Facebook, and 1940 have in common?  It’s all about friendships.

A number of years ago, I wrote the following thoughts on relationships.  I’d like to share them with you in hopes that God will bring into your life a friendship that is measured not by worldly standards but by the presence of God in the relationship.

                                                                    The Essence of Relationships by Elizabeth Welsh

My friend, it matters not what you think of me.  What truly matters is what you think of God when you’ve been with me.  The question is not whether our relationship has brought you closer to me, rather has it brought you closer to God?

A. W. Tozer says the most important thing about us is what we think about God.  Perhaps the most important thing about a friendship is how it affects our thinking about God.  The issue is not so much what we can do for one another as it is what God can do through us to enhance each other’s relationship with Him.

When you are with me, do you think more—or—less about God?

When you are with me, do you gain a deeper trust in Him, or do I promote doubt and discouragement in your thinking?

When we are together, is our time spent enjoying God or complaining and questioning Him?  When you are with me, does the power of God in my life entice you to desire that same power to work for you?

When we’ve been together, have I caused you to be frustrated over the present and fearful of the future, or have I left you with an afterglow of confidence in God’s sovereignty and unconditional love? When we are apart, do your thoughts of me flow into thoughts of Him?  Is there a slight possibility that God might use any thought of me to help you step into His presence?

If you think too much of me, I may become prideful.  If you think too little of me, I might feel sorry for myself.  However, when our thoughts are Christ-centered, our friendship will develop in each of us a better understanding of the persons we truly are in Him.

As we encounter faults and shortcomings in each other, let’s agree to see them as tools in the hand of God as He shapes each of us to be more like Him.  If we find our encouragement in Him, our friendship won’t suffer when we disappoint one another.  If we fail each other, our mutual trust will remain intact if we depend upon Him.    

For our relationship to reach its fullest potential, our thoughts of Him must flourish more than our thoughts of each other.  For He alone transcends the frailties and misunderstandings of the human mind, and it is He who brings meaning, purpose, and joy into matters of the heart.

And this is the best part.  If He is the true essence of our friendship, it will last forever!

Comments
8 Responses to “Cell Phones, Facebook, and 1940”
  1. Toni Williams says:

    How beautiful, my dear friend….and I can answer YES to all the questions about God when I am with you or even thinking of you!! And that has been true for ALL the years I’ve known you! How grateful I am for our unique and very special friendship…a treasured blessing for me!

  2. Mary Beth says:

    Yes, yes , yes, and how wonderful to call you friend and mom. 😉 you are doing great as a blogger. Keep it up. I can’t wait to see you tomorrow.

  3. “What truly matters is what you think of God when you’ve been with me.” Wow. Powerful.

  4. christen adams says:

    Wonderful post and blog, Mrs. Welsh! I loved your thoughts on friendship–and I spent a couple of hours with that girl of yours that has been my friend for 30 years yesterday!
    I tell my kids all of the time that a true friend brings you closer to God and brings out the very best in you! I am going to make a copy of your post and send it to my kids at college.
    I would love to see you–
    Chris

    • It’s so good to hear from you Chris. It’s been too long since I’ve seen you. I can’t believe you have kids in college. Thanks for your encouraging comment. God is so good to bring good friends into our lives, isn’t he? Thank you for being such a faithful friend to Millie.
      Love you, Liz

  5. Millie says:

    Mom! How have I never seen this before?! Of course I’ve heard you share much of this and maybe you came up with some of it because of the “lectures” you gave me about my own friendships!!! 🙂 And I’m so grateful!!! This is really good — thanks for the reminders! You are such a good friend and momma!

  6. Jeannie Carr says:

    Needed to hear that today! I am so grateful for friendships that have a God-perspective on life!

Leave a Reply

