Six Hour Stew

August 25, 2010

Traditions! There are some things I remember about growing up that still warm my heart. One of those things is Sunday dinner at home. Within an hour after church, my family sat down to a feast of southern dishes. I can still taste the crispy fried chicken, rice and gravy, fresh green beans, congealed salad, hot rolls, sweet tea, and last but not least banana pudding made from scratch. But then everything was made from scratch in those days. No short cuts. How did my mother do it? I have no idea.

The memories of Sunday dinners stuck with me and I, with a few modifications continued the tradition with my family. Of course, we didn’t have much choice. With five children and a limited budget, we very rarely ate out. I know that’s hard for you young families to believe, but it’s true.

I was thrilled when I discovered the recipe for Six Hour Stew, and so was my family. They loved it. By the way, serve hot biscuits with it so everyone can soak up the yummy sauce it makes. Isn’t it great that the biscuits now come frozen and ready to bake? They may not be as good as  Mama made, but they’re definitely better than mine.

Sunday mornings can be pretty hectic, especially if you have a bunch of little ones to get ready for church.
Suggestion: Cut up the veggies the night before and leave them in a bowl of water in the fridge overnight. At 8:00 the next morning, combine the ingredients and put in the oven. When you come home from church, all you need to do is throw a salad together and bake the biscuits. Then you can sit back and enjoy your meal, as well as glowing accolades from your family.

Six Hour Stew

1 can tomatoes
3 tblsp. Tapioca
½ tsp. basil
½ tsp oregano
¼ tsp. marjoram
2 tblsp. & 2 tsps. Worcestershire Sauce
2 tsps. Salt
4 ribs celery (cut in large pieces)
1 large onion (cut in large pieces)
4 or 5 carrots (cut in large pieces)
4 or 5 new potatoes (cut in large pieces)
2 lbs. boneless beef stew meat
1 bay leaf (almond size)

Place all ingredients in large roaster. Cover and place in pre-heated oven 250 degrees for six hours.

Comments
5 Responses to “Six Hour Stew”
  1. Linda Williams says:

    I’m looking forward to trying this! I bought 1/4 cow, which came with several packages of stew meat. I honestly had no idea what I was going to do with it… until now. Tomorrow’s dinner is now planned! Thanks, Liz!

  2. Mary Beth Welsh says:

    I loved your stew Mom and now that I have the recipe I’ll have to make it. I also loved your biscuits but you are right, the ones you just throw in the oven are so easy and really pretty good. You seem to be doing well with the blog learning curve, keep it up. Love you.

  3. John Austin says:

    Liz, you are amazing. Love the blog and look forward to testing the recipes, if I can get my wife reading as well. : )

Leave a Reply

