Chocolate Pound Cake With Fudge Icing

When I got married, I couldn’t cook at all.  My mother was a wonderful cook, but I was a tomboy and too busy with other things to want to learn. I remember when Jay visited our home before we were married, and I fried eggs for his breakfast.  You guessed it, I broke the yellow and he wouldn’t eat it.  Of course, I cried.  We’ve both learned a lot about marriage and economy since then, and we’re still married after 52 years.  God’s grace, I’d say.

For celebrations of all kinds, try our family’s traditional birthday cake.  Over fifty years ago, my mother’s friend shared this recipe with her.  Miss Eunice served it without the icing.  It was good naked, but our family was quick to add the fudge icing, which makes it really yummy.  Four of our five daughters make this cake now and they all do a better job than I.  (Millie, it’s time you put your hand to the beater and go for it.)  After all, I’ve proved that perfection is not always necessary to make a hit with the family, especially if it’s chocolate.  One time, the girls talked me into making a double icing.  Talk about decadent.  After I applied I John 1:9, I decided to never do that again.  By the way, I just learned a new tip from our oldest daughter Mary Beth. Use Baking Pam to grease the pan.  You don’t even have to run your knife around the edge and it comes out perfect.  Amazing!  Try the recipe and let me know if you have any questions.  You’ll bless and be blessed, especially if you share the beaters.  Okay, don’t share the beaters.  You deserve it.  J

Miss Eunice’s Chocolate Pound Cake with Fudge Icing

3 cups all-purpose flour                                   ½ cup cocoa

½ tsp. salt & ½ tsp baking powder                 3 cups sugar

½ cup Crisco (1/2 baking stick)                      1 cup milk

2 sticks real butter                                           5 eggs, beaten

2 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 300 degrees, 325 if your oven is slow.  Grease tube cake pan with Pam for Baking.  Sift flour, salt, baking powder, and cocoa three times.  Set aside.  Cream butter, sugar, and Crisco with mixer.  Add eggs one at a time and beat in.  Add milk and flour alternately.  Add vanilla.  Bake 1½ hours.  Don’t open oven until time to test the cake.   Cake is done when toothpick comes out clean.  Let cake cool for approximately thirty minutes and turn onto plate.  After cake cools, spread with fudge icing.

Chocolate Fudge Icing:

2 cups sugar                                                    2/3 cup milk

¼ cup cocoa                                                    ½ cup Crisco (other half of stick)

¼ tsp salt                                                         2 tblsp. Butter & 1 tsp. vanilla

Add all ingredients and boil fast stirring constantly for 2 minutes.  Add butter and vanilla.  Beat with electric mixer for 7-10 minutes.  Time varies according to the weather and various other factors.  When the chocolate turns a lighter color, it is probably ready.  Spread over cake.  Enjoy!

Comments
17 Responses to “Chocolate Pound Cake With Fudge Icing”
  1. Geni says:

    Oh….my. Sounds delicious! I will have to try it. I have a new baking blog and love new visitors…stop by if you like.

  2. Mary Beth, Millie and Lisa (3 of your daughters!) says:

    This cake is BEYOND description! Everyone will fight for the beaters and blood will be shed for the icing bowl..hint…make a little extra icing so you can actually enjoy licking the bowl! (Mom-rest assured, I will have no need to attempt to make this cake…why would I when I can always lick your bowls?! Millie)

  3. Lollie Beck says:

    Mom baked this cake for my 19th birthday, wrapped it, packed it in a shipping box, along with candles, paper plates, and napkins and sent it from Penn. to South Carolina where I was in college. It was promptly devoured by hungry college students! It must have cost a fortune to ship it!

  4. Lynn - # 6 says:

    As the honorary #6 daughter, I will testify that this is the best cake EVER! So much so that Jay will stoop to very deceptive methods to steal the last bite! 🙂

  5. carol williams says:

    Hey Liz!
    I have your receipe from my Mother and it is a favorite at my house. Especially with Evan.

  6. Heather Weaver says:

    I am making the cake tommorow …AND than I will start my diet we ( I ) finish it 🙂 What happens if you cant sift? I got no sifter? Help! Thanks for the blog . LOOKING forward to being blessed by the mom of MY spiritual MOM:) Love your family 😉

  7. Jeannie Carr says:

    Sounds like “Ten Pound Cake”!

  8. Linda Williams says:

    Ooooohhhh… this looks delicious!! Can’t wait to try this!

  9. Katie Payne says:

    It looks like everyone has neglected to mention the only way to eat a slice of this cake…you must eat the cake first (with vanilla ice cream) and save the icing for last. But beware of those who make attempts to steal the best part of the cake! 🙂 Love you Mom!

    • And we know what happens when someone attempts to steal the icing, don’t we? Love you, too and thanks for checking in. I might know you’d go straight to the chocolate pound cake. You always have had a sweet tooth–goes with the rest of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

